001-867-393-2111 info@yukonwide.com
  • de
  • en

Yukon Challenge

Canoe trip on the Big Salmon River in combination with a trekking tour on the Chilkoot Trail.

Canoe trip on the Big Salmon River from Quiet Lake to Carmacks, 354 km / 14 days
in combination with
Chilkoot Trail Tour from Skagway / Dyea to Bennett, 53 km / 8 days

We begin our Yukon challenge with a canoe trip on one of the most beautiful wilderness rivers in the Yukon Territory, the Big Salmon River. Nestled amongst the Pelly Mountains and the Big Salmon Range, the narrow river winds its way through one of the most charming landscapes of the Yukon Territory, until it empties into the Yukon River close to the town of Carmacks. 

The Big Salmon River holds many surprises for wilderness enthusiasts and experienced canoeists alike. Accompaid by our experienced guides, even canoe-novices can master this river with its natural challenges like sweepers and fast moving water.

After a day off in Whitehorse, tour participants will be shuttled to the US border, where they board the historic train over the White Pass to Skagway. Within a few hours, travellers experiences multiple eco-zones: alpine meadows, boreal forests, and coastal rainforests.

In historic Dyea, we begin our 5-day Trekkingtour on the legendary Chilkoot Trail. We only carry what we need during those days. The rest of our luggage will remain in Whitehorse in our hotel.

We follow the Trail, which was crossed by more than 100 000 men und women, explorers and thieves, who ventured to the goldfields in the Klondike in the late 1890s. The Chilkoot Pass towers 1,150 meters high above the ocean. We will experience some of the struggles those adventurers had to put up with on their way to the Klondike.

After five days hiking, we reach Lake Bennett, the end point of the Chilkoot Trail. We fly back to Whitehorse with a float plane and have a chance to see this unique landscape from the bird`s-eye view.

This trip is also available as a pure canoe trip or trekking tour.

Day 1:
Your guide will greet you at the Whitehorse Airport and transfer you to your hotel. After the check-in we will meet for a tour briefing and discuss your trip details.

Day 2:
We pick you up at the hotel and drive along the Alaska Highway past Johnson’s Crossing and later on the scenic South Canol Road to our entry point on Quiet Lake. On this approximately 230 km long stage you get a first feeling for the vastness of the Yukon. Here, away from civilization, our canoe trip begins on the Big Salmon River. The short chain of lakes which we cross at the beginning gives us an opportunity to familiarize ourselves with the canoes.

Day 3 to 14:
After we have left the lakes behind we reach the Big Salmon River. In the upper part of the narrow and winding river we are challenged by several log jams. Depending on the water level, these can be easily portaged.

Here in the crystal clear water we can observe the King Salmon on the way to their spawning grounds from the canoe. Angelsport enthusiast can now truly enjoy there passion. Continuing  down the river the narrow curves diminish, the Big Salmon River broadens and we have enough time to enjoy the wilderness in its beautiful natural landscape.

Shortly after the South and the North Fork empties into the Big Salmon River, we reach the historic Yukon River. Here we will see traces of the Klondike Gold Rush, the historic settlement – Big Salmon Village. During the next three days on the Yukon River, we see more often the remains of old log cabins and former trade stations.

At “Cyr’s gold dredge” we stop for a lunch break and try to pan for some gold flakes. The river bank glimmers in this area for gold – usually pyrid, also known as Katzengold.

At Little Salmon Village, a Fist Nation fishcamp,  we meet again for the first time civilization. In the next two days we will reach Carmacks, the end point of our canoe trip. After loading the boats on the trailer we will drive over the Klondike Highway back to Whitehorse.
Arriving in Whitehorse we check-in at our hotel.

Day 15:
Today we have time for a shopping and sightseeing tour in Whitehorse. Your guide will be happy to give you some tips. In the afternoon, we will prepare for the upcoming Trekkingtour on the Chilkoot Trail.

Day 16:
In the morning we take the bus from White Pass & Yukon Route and drive to Fraser, the US border to Alaska, where we board the historic train over the White Pass to Skagway. Within a few hours, we will experience multiple eco-zones: alpine meadows, boreal forests and costal rainforests.
In Skagway we have some time for sight seeing before we take a shuttle to Dyea, the trail head of the Chilkoot Trail.
For the night we will camp at the foot of the trail.

Day 17 to 21:
In the early morning we start our hike on the Chilkoot Trail.
The first day we take it easy and hike a shorter distance to the camp at Canyon City. The next days we hike to Sheep Camp before we climb up over the “Golden Stairs” and Chilkoot Pass to Happy Camp in the Yukon.
On day four we hike along Long Lake to the beautiful camp at Bare Loon Lake. Our last day on the Chilkoot Trail brings us to Lake Bennett.
At Lake Bennett we have some time to look at the remains from the Klondike Goldrush bevor we fly back in the early afternoon to Whitehorse by float plane.
Arriving in Whitehorse we check in for the last night in our hotel.

Day 22:
Transfer from your hotel to the Whitehorse Airport and say “good bye”.

What is included:

  • Whitehorse Airport shuttle
  • 22 days tour from/to Whitehorse
  • English speaking guide
  • Guided tour in small groups from 2 to 12 people
  • All overnight fees (4 x hotel, 17 x camping in tents)
  • Overnight stays in two people Dome Tent incl. Therm-A-Rest mats
  • Full camping and outdoor equipment is provided
  • 13 days guided canoe trip on the Big Salmon and Yukon River
  • Canoe for two people incl. 3 paddles, 2 life jackets, sponge and bailer
  • 5 day trekking tour on the Chilkoot Trail
  • All National Park permits and fees
  • Drive with the historic White Pass & Yukon Route Railway
  • Flight back to Whitehorse with a float plane
  • All meals during the tour
  • All transportations
  • Emergency equipment including Satellite communication

Not Included:

  • Air fare to/from Whitehorse
  • All hotel meals and during the transportation
  • Alcoholic drinks
  • Personal expenses and tips
  • Sleeping bag
  • Trekking Backpack
  • Fishing License
  • Travel and cancellation Insurance
Date: Price: Availability:
22.07.2018 to 12.08.2018 $3750 CAD Guaranteed

Single room supplement: $278.00 CAD
Single tent supplement: $150.00 CAD

All prices are in Canadian dollars plus 5% GST.

  • All old remains and artefactes on the trail are protected by Parks Canada and the American and Canadian Gouvernment. Don’t take any objects as a souvenir !!!
  • During the hike you have to carry your backpack yourself. We don’t provide porter service.
  • Please make sure before you start your trip, that you have all required documentations and visas to travel within the USA. Yukon Wide Adventures is not responsible in the case that you are refused entry into the USA.

001-867-393-2111 info@yukonwide.com
  • de
  • en

Yukon Challenge

Kanutour auf dem Big Salmon River in Kombination mit einer Trekking Tour auf dem Chilkoot Trail

Kanutour auf dem Big Salmon River von Quiet Lake bis Carmacks, 354 km / 14 Tage
in Kombination mit
Chilkoot Trail Tour von Skagway/Dyea bis Bennett, 53 km / 8 Tage

Wir beginnen unsere Yukon Herausforderung mit einer Kanutour auf einem der schönsten Wildnis-Flüsse im Yukon Territorium, dem Big Salmon River. Eingebettet zwischen den Pelly Mountains und der Big Salmon Range schlängelt sich der anfangs schmale und kurvenreiche Fluß durch eines der landschaftlich beeindruckendsten Gebiete im Yukon bis zu seiner Mündung in den Yukon River.

Während der gesamten Tour hält der Big Salmon stets eine Überraschung bereit und ist für den Naturbeobachter als auch für den sportlichen Kanuten eine Herausforderung. Betreut von unseren erfahrenen Guides, ist dieser Fluß mit seinen natürlichen Hindernissen, auch von unerfahrenen Paddlern zu meistern.

Nach einem freien Tag in Whitehorse, steht ein Transfer an die amerikanische Grenze und Fahrt mit dem Zug auf der historischen Bahnstrecke über den White Pass bis nach Skagway an.

Ab Dyea beginnen wir dann die 5-tägige Trekkingtour auf dem legendären Chilkoot Trail, auf welcher wir nur das dafür benötigte Gepäck mitnehmen. Den Rest können wir in Whitehorse deponieren.

Wir folgen den Spuren, der über hunderttausend Männer und Frauen, Abenteurer und Gauner, die am Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts zu den Klondike Goldfeldern, über den 1.150 Meter hohen Chilkoot Pass aufbrachen. Selber werden wir Zeuge, welche Anstrengungen die Goldsucher, auf dem Weg in den Norden auf sich genommen haben.

Am Ende der Trekkingtour, am Lake Bennett, erwartet uns ein Wasserflugzeug, welches uns nach Whitehorse zurück bringt. Hier haben wir nochmals die Möglichkeit, die soeben durchwanderte Landschaft aus der Vogelperspektive zu erleben.

Diese Reise ist auch als reine Kanutour oder Trekkingtour buchbar.

1. Tag
Empfang am Flughafen in Whitehorse durch Ihren Guide und Transfer zum Hotel. Im Anschluß besprechen wir in gemütlicher Runde den Tourablauf.

2. Tag
Wir holen Sie am Hotel ab und fahren auf dem Alaska Highway vorbei an Johnson’s Crossing und später auf der landschaftlich beeindruckenden South Canol Road bis zu unserem Einstiegspunkt am Quiet Lake. Auf dieser ca. 230 km langen Etappe erhalten Sie ein erstes Gefühl für die Weite des Yukons. Hier, abseits der Zivilisation, beginnt unsere Kanutour auf dem Big Salmon River. Die kurze Seenkette die wir zu anfangs durchqueren gibt uns Gelegenheit uns mit den Kanus vertraut zu machen.

3. – 14. Tag
Nachdem wir die Seen hinter uns gelassen haben, gelangen wir auf den Big Salmon River. Im Oberlauf des schmalen und kurvenreichen Flusses erwarten uns mehrere Treibholzansammlungen (Log Jams). Je nach Wasserstand können diese einfach durchfahren werden.

Hier ist das Wasser glasklar und im Spätsommer können wir die Lachse auf dem Zug zu ihren Laichplätzen vom Kanu aus beobachten. Angelsport begeisterte Naturliebhaber haben hier Ihre wahre Freude. Im weiteren Verlauf lassen die engen Kurven nach. Der Big Salmon River wird breiter und wir haben genug Zeit die Natur in seiner schönen Abgeschiedenheit zu genießen.

Kurz nach dem die South- und die North Fork in den Big Salmon münden, vereinigt sich dieser mit dem historischen Yukon River. Hier findet man die Spuren des Goldrausches in Form einer ehemaligen Siedlung – Big Salmon Village. Während der nächsten drei Tage auf dem Yukon River sehen wir häufiger die Überreste alter Blockhütten und ehemalige Versorgungsstationen der Raddampfer.

An “Cyr’s gold dredge” machen wir nochmals halt und lassen uns beim Goldwaschen zurück ins Zeitalter des Klondike Goldrausches versetzen. Das Flußufer schimmert in diesem Gebiet nur so nach Gold – meistens leider Pyrid, auch als Katzengold bekannt.

Bei Little Salmon Village treffen wir zum ersten Mal wieder auf Zivilisation. Hier befindet sich ein historisches “Fischcamp”, das zur Lachszeit von First Nations betrieben wird. Im weiteren Verlauf erreichen wir Carmacks, den Endpunkt unserer Kanutour.

In Carmacks werden wir bereits von unserem Fahrer erwartet. Nach dem Verladen der Boote geht es über den Klondike Highway zurück nach Whitehorse. Dort angekommen checken wir wieder im Hotel ein.

15. Tag
Heute haben wir Zeit für eine Shopping- und Sightseeing-Tour in Whitehorse. Ihr Guide gibt Ihnen gerne ein paar Tipps. Am Nachmittag werden wir uns auf die bevorstehende Trekkingtour auf dem Chilkoot Trail vorbereiten.

16. Tag
Früh am Morgen fahren wir mit dem Bus der White Pass & Yukon Route von Whitehorse bis nach Fraser (Amerikanische Grenze). Dort steigen Sie in den Zug um und fahren auf der historischen Bahnstrecke über den White Pass bis nach Skagway. In Skagway haben wir etwas Zeit um uns Skagway anzuschauen, bevor wir weiter nach Dyea, dem Chilkoot Trail-Startpunkt gebracht werden.

17. – 21.Tag
Heute starten wir unsere Trekking Tour auf dem Chilkoot Trail.
Wir beginnen mit einer kurzen Strecke zum Camp bei Canyon City. In den nächsten Tagen wandern wir dann zum Sheep Camp, bevor es über den Chilkoot Pass zum Happy Camp auf der Yukon Seite geht. Von dort wandern wir weiter zum schönen Bare Loon Lake Camp.
Der letzte Tag bringt uns dann nach Lake Bennett, von wo wir mit dem Wasserflugzeug zurück nach Whitehorse fliegen.
Für die letzte Nacht checken wir wieder im Hotel in Whitehorse ein.

22. Tag
Abreise und Transfer vom Hotel zum Flughafen Whitehorse.

Inbegriffene Leistungen:

  • Flughafentransfer Whitehorse
  • 22 Tage Tour ab/bis Whitehorse
  • Betreuung durch deutsch- oder englischsprachigen Tourguide
    (deutschsprachige Reiseleitung ist nicht garantiert)
  • geführte Tour in kleinen Gruppen von 2 bis 12 Personen
  • sämtliche Übernachtungen (4 x Hotel der Mittelklasse, 17 x campieren im Zelt)
  • Übernachtung im Zweipersonen Domzelt inkl. Therm – A -Rest Matte
  • komplette Camping- und Outdoorausrüstung
  • 13 Tage Kanutour auf dem Big Salmon- und Yukon River
  • Kanu für 2 Personen inkl. 3 Paddel, 2 Schwimmwesten, Schwamm und Schöpfgefäß
  • 5 Tage Trekkingtour auf dem Chilkoot Trail
  • sämtliche Genehmigungen und National Park Gebühren
  • Fahrt mit der historischen White Pass & Yukon Route Eisenbahn
  • Flug mit dem Wasserflugzeug
  • komplette Verpflegung während der Tour
  • sämtliche Transfers
  • Notfallausrüstung einschließlich Satellitenkommunikation

Nicht inbegriffene Leistungen:

  • Hin- und Rückflug nach Whitehorse
  • Verpflegung in den Hotels und während der Transfers
  • Alkoholische Getränke
  • Persönliche Ausgaben und Trinkgelder
  • Schlafsack
  • Trekking Rucksack
  • Angellizenz
  • Reiseversicherung
Reisedatum: Preise: Verfügbarkeit:
22.07.2018 bis 12.08.2018 $3,750 CAD Garantiert

Einzelzimmerzuschlag: $278,00 CAD
Einzelzeltzuschlag: $150,00 CAD

Alle Preisangaben sind in Kanadischen Dollar zzgl. 5% GST.

Allgemeine Hinweise

  • Alle Überreste und Artefakte auf der Strecke sind durch Bundes-, Landes- und Provinzrecht geschützt.
  • Nehmen Sie keine Gegenstände als Souvenir mit !!!
  • Während der Wanderung tragen Sie Ihr Gepäck selber. Es wird kein “Träger” gestellt.
  • Bitte vergewissern Sie sich vor Antritt der Reise, daß Sie die notwendigen Ausweise/Visa für einen Grenzübertritt in die USA mitbringen. Yukon Wide Adventures übernimmt keine Verantwortung für den Fall, daß Ihnen die Einreise in die USA verweigert wird.