001-867-393-2111 info@yukonwide.com
  • de
  • en

Pelly River Tour - a real wilderness experience!

Ross River to Pelly Crossing

Ross River to Pelly Crossing, 353 km / 15 days

The Pelly River is one of the rarely used rivers and is still considered as an insider tip. This canoe trip in the secluded nature of the Pelly Range, is one of our most beautiful wilderness tours for paddlers with some experience in light whitewater.  Two short rapids called “Little Fish Hook and Big Fish Hook” provide some adventurous diversity.

A magnificent mountain landscape surrounds the Pelly River along the route. It is one of the areas with the greatest variety of wildlife and allows frequent observation of big game such as black bears, grizzlies, moose and caribous at close range.

Before the tour comes to an end we’ll pass through the impressive Granite Canyon where we will be challenged by a longer but manageable rapid.

Day 1:
Your guide will greet you at the Whitehorse Airport and transfer you to your hotel. After the check-in we will meet for a tour briefing and discuss your trip details and answer all of your questions.

Day 2:
We pick you up at the hotel and drive along the Klondike- and Campbell Highway, past Carmacks we will reach our entry point to the Ross River. On this route you get a first feeling for the vastness of the Yukon. We start our canoe trip with a short stretch before we set up our camp on the banks of the Pelly River.

Day 3 – 13:
From day one the Pelly River has a pleasant speed. Short day’s stages allow sufficient opportunities to explore the outback. On the first half of the tour, the river is bordered by the Anvil Range and the Glenlyon Range. The valley is narrow and majestic mountains rise up on either side of the river. This is home of black and grizzly bears, wolves, lynxes and wolverines.

We will pass some smaller rapids. The tributaries from the surrounding mountains are crystal clear and refreshingly cold and offer several opportunities to prove your fishing abilities.

 Approximately halfway through the valley, the valley widens significantly and instead of high mountains we are now accompanied by gentle wooded hills. A myriad of small and large islands appear and wait to be explored in the side-arms of the river. In spring we can observe breeding ducks, swans and geese arriving from the south. In addition to the large number of waterbirds, there are also mooses, deers and beavers domiciled in this area.

Shortly before the tour comes to an end, it will get exciting once again. Passing the Granite Canyon we are faced with 7km stronger moving water, waves and rapids. We camp below the canyon, on one of the few places that indicates an earlier settlement. Here the Robert Campbell Trail is still visible. This trail, which was built in the second half of the last century, was one of the first “roads” in the Yukon.

A rest day at Needlerock Creek gives you the opportunity to explore both, Granite Canyon as well as the Campbell Trail.

Day 14:
Our final stage leads us from Needlerock Creek to Pelly Crossing at the Klondike Highway where we will see some First Nations’ ‘Fishing camps’. These are inhabited by the local First Nations during salmon season in late summer.

Our driver will welcome us in Pelly Crossing. After loading the boats on the trailer we will drive over the Klondike Highway back to Whitehorse. Arriving in Whitehorse we check in for the last night in our hotel

Day 15:
Transfer from your hotel to the Whitehorse Airport and say “good bye”.

Services included in price:

  • Whitehorse Airport shuttle
  • 15 days tour from/to Whitehorse
  • English speaking guide
  • Guided tour in small groups from 2 to 12 people
  • All overnight fees (2 x hotel, 12 x camping in tents)
  • Overnight stays in two people Dome Tent incl. Therm-A-Rest mats
  • Full camping and outdoor equipment is provided
  • 13 days guided canoe trip on the Pelly River
  • Canoe for two people incl. 3 paddles, 2 life jackets, sponge and bailer
  • All meals during the tour
  • All transportations
  • Emergency equipment including Satellite communication

Not Included:

  • Air fare to/from Whitehorse
  • All hotel meals and during the transportation
  • Alcoholic drinks
  • Personal expenses and tips
  • Sleeping bag
  • Fishing License
  • Travel and cancellation Insurance
Dates: Price Availability
01.07.2018 to 15.07.2018 $2,300 CAD

Single room supplement: $139.00 CAD
Single tent supplement: $120.00 CAD

All prices are in Canadian dollars plus 5% GST.

001-867-393-2111 info@yukonwide.com
  • de
  • en

Pelly River Tour

Eine echte Wildnis Erfahrung!

Ross River bis Pelly Crossing, 353 km / 15 Tage

Der Pelly River zählt zu den eher selten befahrenen Flüssen und gilt immer noch als ein Geheimtipp. Diese Kanutour in der abgeschiedenen Natur der Pelly Range, zählt zu einer unserer schönsten Wildnis Touren für Paddler mit etwas Erfahrung in leichtem Wildwasser. Der “kleine und große Fishhook”, zwei kurze Stromschnellen sorgen unterwegs für etwas Abwechslung.

Eine grandiose Berglandschaft umgibt den Pelly River auf der gesamten Strecke. Eines der tierreichsten Gebiete des Yukon erlauben häufig das Beobachten von Großwild wie Bären, Elchen und Caribous aus nächster Nähe.

Kurz vor Ende der Tour durchfahren wird noch den eindrucksvollen Granite Canyon. Neben dem beeindrucken Steinmassiv haben wir nochmals eine etwas längere, aber meist gut befahrbare Schnelle zu meistern.

1. Tag
Empfang am Flughafen in Whitehorse durch Ihren Guide und Transfer zum Hotel. Im Anschluß besprechen wir in gemütlicher Runde den Tourablauf.

2. Tag
Wir beginnen unsere Tour mit einer Fahrt auf dem Klondike- und Campbell Highway, vorbei an Carmacks zum Einsatzort nach Ross River. Auf dieser Strecke bekommen wir einen ersten Eindruck von der Weite und Schönheit des Yukon. Wir starten unsere Kanutour mit einer kurzen Etappe bevor wir unser Lager am Ufer des Pelly Rivers aufschlagen.

3. – 13. Tag
Der Pelly River hat vom ersten Tag an eine angenehme Geschwindigkeit. Kurze Tagesetappen geben ausreichend Gelegenheit, das Hinterland zu erforschen. Auf der ersten Hälfte der Tour ist der Fluss von der Anvil Range und der Glenlyon Range eingefasst. Das Tal ist eng, und majestätische Berge ragen zu beiden Seiten des Flusses auf. Dies ist die Heimat von Schwarz- und Grizzlybären, Wölfen, Luchsen und Vielfrassen.

Einige kleinere Rapids werden wir hier passieren. Die Zuflüsse aus den Bergen sind meist kristallklar und erfrischend kalt. Immer wieder gibt es Gelegenheit, sein Können beim Angeln zu beweisen.

Etwa nach der halben Strecke weitet sich das Tal merklich. Anstelle hoher Berge begleiten uns jetzt sanfte bewaldete Hügel. Im Fluss tauchen eine Unzahl kleiner und großer Inseln auf, die zu Erkundungen in Seitenarme einladen. Hier ist eines der Brutgebiete der Enten, Schwäne und Gänse, die im Frühjahr aus dem Süden kommen. Neben einer Vielzahl von Wasservögeln findet man in dieser Region auch häufig Elche, Rehe und Biber.

Kurz vor Ende der Tour wird es noch einmal aufregend. Im Granite Canyon haben wir auf ca. 7 km stärker bewegtes Wasser, Wellen und Stromschnellen. Unterhalb des Canyons lagern wir an einer der wenigen Stellen, die auf frühere Besiedlung hindeuten. Hier führt der heute noch deutlich erkennbare Robert Campbell Trail vorbei. Dieser in der 2. Hälfte des letzten Jahrhunderts angelegte Weg war einer der ersten “Straßen” im Yukon.

Ein Rasttag am Needlerock Creek gibt Gelegenheit, sowohl Granite Canyon als auch den Campbell Trail zu erkunden.

14. Tag
Die letzte Etappe führt uns vom Needlerock Creek nach Pelly Crossing am Klondike Highway. Entlang dieser Strecke sehen wir einige indianische “Fischcamps”. Diese sind zur Lachszeit, im Spätsommer, von den örtlichen First Nation bewohnt.

In Pelly Crossing werden wir bereits von unserem Fahrer erwartet. Nach dem Verladen der Boote geht es über den Klondike Highway zurück nach Whitehorse. Dort angekommen checken wir für die letzte Nacht in unserem Hotel ein.

15. Tag
Abreise und Transfer vom Hotel zum Flughafen Whitehorse.

Inbegriffene Leistungen:

  • Flughafentransfer Whitehorse
  • 15 Tage Tour ab/bis Whitehorse
  • Betreuung durch deutsch- oder englischsprachigen Tourguide
    (deutschsprachige Reiseleitung ist nicht garantiert)
  • geführte Tour in kleinen Gruppen von 2 bis 12 Personen
  • sämtliche Übernachtungen (2 x Hotel der Mittelklasse, 12 x campieren im Zelt)
  • Übernachtung im Zweipersonen Domzelt inkl. Therm-A-Rest Matte
  • komplette Camping- und Outdoorausrüstung
  • 13 Tage Kanutour auf dem Pelly River
  • Kanu für 2 Personen inkl. 3 Paddel, 2 Schwimmwesten, Schwamm und Schöpfgefäß
  • komplette Verpflegung während der Tour
  • sämtliche Transfers
  • Notfallausrüstung einschließlich Satellitenkommunikation

Nicht inbegriffene Leistungen:

  • Hin- und Rückflug nach Whitehorse
  • Verpflegung in den Hotels und während der Transfers
  • Alkoholische Getränke
  • Persönliche Ausgaben und Trinkgelder
  • Schlafsack
  • Angellizenz
  • Reiseversicherung
Reisedatum: Preise Verfügbarkeit
01.07.2018 bis 15.07.2018 $2,300 CAD

Einzelzimmerzuschlag: $139,00 CAD
Einzelzeltzuschlag: $120,00 CAD

Alle Preisangaben sind in Kanadischen Dollar zzgl. 5% GST.