001-867-393-2111 info@yukonwide.com
  • de
  • en

Kluane Country Tour

Day hikes in different areas of the Kluane National Park

Kluane National Park – 6 days

The tiny village of Haines Junction, surrounded by mountainous region of the Kluane Mountains, is located on the Alaska Highway west of Whitehorse. It is the starting point of our adventures in the Kluane Park, which covers 22,000 square km of remote mountain wilderness close to the Alaska boarder. Mount Logan with 5959 m, the highest mountain in Canada, is part of the ice-covered St. Elias Mountains.

This area is still an absolute insider tip for well-traveled globetrotters. Kluane means the “place of many fish” in the Tutchone language.

Day 1:
We pick you up at your accommodation in Whitehorse and start our tour with a drive west on the Alaska Highway to Haines Junction, the small community at the Kluane National Park. There we will visit the Kluane Park Information Center to get the first impression of this area. Here we’ll receive plenty of information about this incredible Park. Slide shows and videos provide details about plants and wildlife.

After we have informed us about the National Park, we continue to our cabins. The next five nights we will stay in cabins, located near Kathleen Lake, where we will spend the next five nights. In the afternoon we will take a short walk to nearby Kathleen Lake.

Day 2:
Our first hike takes us along Sheep Creek to the foot of the Sheep Mountain Ridge. With our Van we drive along the border of the National Park to the Sheep Mountain Visitor Center, from where we start our day hike.

As the name implies, this mountain is home to Dall Sheep. With some luck we can observe some of the animals at close range. Further up we are expecting a magnificent view of the river delta and the Kaskawulsh glacier that feeds Slims River. We will spend some time at this place and just enjoy the spectacular panorama presented to us.

The hike is moderate and for the 10 km distance it takes 3 to 5 hours, elevation 430 m.

Day 3:
Today we head for the nearby Auriol Trail Loop. The hike leads us along a small stream into a very beautifull high plateau, where we will rest for our lunch break. Along the trail we will find different berry bushes. From August on we can enjoy the delicious wild berries directly from the bush.

The hike on the Auriol Trail is easy and for the 15 km distance it takes 4 to 6 hours, elevation 400 m.

Day 4:
After the endeavour of the last few days, today we enjoy a shorter hike to Saint Elias Lake. On this relatively short trip, we walk through a narrow, densely covered valley, which has a very special charm.

In the end, the beautiful Saint Elias Lake awaits us, where we make a small BBQ with a camp fire and grill some sausages for lunch. With a little bit of luck we might see one of the Loons close by, which nest in the summer month at this Lake.

Afterwards, we make a trip to Klukshu, a First Nation summer village. Depending on the season, we can watch the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations catching some Salmon, in their traditional way.

As a highlight of the tour, a sightseeing flight over the glaciers of the Kluane National Park and catch a glimpse of Mt. Logan, can be undertaken in the late afternoon – facultative.

Day 5:
An adventure of the special kind is the trail to the “Kings Throne”. We start our hike on an old overland mail route directly at Kathleen Lake, which soon passes over to a norrow trail. From Kathleen Lake we climb up to the “Kings Throne” on the eastern edge of the park. Under us the Kathleen River Valley opens and in the west we see the summits of the Kluane Range.

A breathtaking view and a great photo opportunity are offered to us.

The hike to the King’s Throne is difficult and for the 10 km distance it takes 4 to 6 hours, elevation 548 m.

Day 6:
After enjoying our last breakfast we pack our belongings and say good bye. On our way back to Whitehorse we still have the opportunity for a stop and take some pictures from the beautiful Kluane National Park region.

In the early afternoon we will be back in Whitehorse, where we finish the tour.

Included Services:

  • 6 day tour from/to Whitehorse
  • English speaking tour guide
  • guided tour in small groups from 2 to 8 people
  • All overnight stays in Cabins (bedding available)
  • Hot showers and bathroom facilities
  • 5 days in Kluane National Park
  • 4 day hikes in different areas of the National Park
  • All meals during the tour
  • All transportations
  • Emergency equipment including Satellite communication

Not Included:

  • Air fare to/from Whitehorse
  • All hotel meals and during the transportation
  • Alcoholic drinks
  • Personal expenses and tips
  • Fishing License
  • Travel and cancellation Insurance
Date: Price Availability
11.06.2018 to 16.06.2018 $1700 CAD
02.07.2018 to 07.07.2018 $1700 CAD
13.08.2018 to 18.08.2018 $1700 CAD

Single cabin supplement: $350.00 CAD

All prices are in Canadian dollars plus 5% GST.

001-867-393-2111 info@yukonwide.com
  • de
  • en

Kluane Country Tour

Tageswanderungen in verschiedenen Gebieten des Kluane National Park

Kluane National Park – 6 Tage

Der winzige bergumrahmte Ort Haines Junction am Alaska Highway ist Ausgangspunkt für unsere Tageswanderungen in dem 22 000 km² großem Kluane National Park, eine noch völlig unerschlossene Bergwildnis an der Grenze zu Alaska. Dort, in den eisbedeckten St. Elias Mountains liegt der Mount Logan, mit 5959 m der höchste Berg Kanadas.

Dieses Gebiet gilt immer noch als Geheimtipp für hartgesottene Globetrotter. Kluane ist übrigens ein altes Tutchone Wort für “Ort der vielen Fische”.

1. Tag
Wir beginnen unsere Abenteuertour mit einer Fahrt auf dem Alaska Highway in Richtung Westen. In Haines Junction, dem Ort am Kluane National Park, besuchen wir das Kluane Park Information Center. Hier erhalten wir alle Informationen über den eindrucksvollen Park. Dia Shows und Videos geben Auskunft zur Flora, Fauna und Tierleben.

Nachdem wir uns über den Park informiert haben geht es weiter zu unseren Hütten, in der Nähe vom Kathleen Lake, wo wir die nächsten fünf Nächte verbringen werden. Am Nachmittag unternehmen wir einen kleinen Fußmarsch zum nahe gelegenen Kathleen Lake.

2. Tag
Unsere erste Wanderung führt uns entlang dem Sheep Creek zum Fuße der Sheep Mountain Ridge. Mit unserem Minibus fahren wir zum Sheep Mountain Visitor Information Center, von welchem aus wir unsere Tagestour starten. Wie der Name schon sagt, sind auf diesem Berg Dallschafe beheimatet. Mit etwas Glück können wir einige der Tiere aus nächster Nähe beobachten.

Im weiteren Verlauf gelangen wir an die Sheep Mountain Ridge. Uns erwartet ein grandioser Ausblick auf das Flusstal und den Kaskawulsh Gletscher der den Slims River speist. Wir werden einige Zeit an diesem Ort verweilen und einfach nur den Blick auf das uns gebotene Panorama genießen.

Diese Wanderung ist als leicht bis mittel einzustufen. Man benötigt für diese 10 km lange Wanderung ca. 3 bis 5 Stunden. Der Höhenunterschied beträgt 430 m.

3. Tag
Heute machen wir uns auf den Weg zum nahe gelegenen Auriol Trail Loop. Diese Wanderung führt uns entlang einem kleinen Bach in ein sehr schön gelegenes Hochplateau, wo wir unsere Mittagspause verbringen werden. Entlang des Weges finden wir verschieden Beerensträucher. Ab August können wir die köstlichen wilden Beeren direkt vom Busch genießen.

Der Auriol Trail ist als leicht einzustufen. Für diese 15 km lange Wanderung benötigen wir ca. 4 bis 6 Stunden. Der Höhenunterschied beträgt 400 m.

4. Tag
Nach den Anstrengungen der letzten Tage steht heute eine kürzere Wanderung zum Saint Elias Lake an. Bei dieser relativ kurzen Tour wandern wir durch ein enges, dicht bewachsenes Tal, welches einen ganz besonderen Reiz hat.

Am Ende erwartet uns der schöne Saint Elias Lake, an dem wir bei einem Lagerfeuer ein kleines BBQ machen und zum Lunch ein paar Würstchen grillen. Hier haben wir auch die Möglichkeit einen der Loons aus nächster Nähe zu beobachten.

Im Anschluss machen wir noch einen Abstecher nach Klukshu, einem First Nation Sommerdorf. Je nach Jahreszeit können wir dort den Champagne und Aishihik First Nations beim Lachsfang zuschauen.
Als Highlight der Tour kann am späten Nachmittag ein Rundflug über die Gletscher bis hin zum Mt. Logan unternommen werden – fakultativ.

5. Tag
Ein Abenteuer der besonderen Art stellt der Trail zum “Kings Throne” dar. Wir starten unsere Wanderung auf einer alten Postkutschenlinie direkt an unserem Camp. Der relativ breite Weg geht bald in einen schmalen Pfad über. Vom Kathleen Lake aus steigen wir auf den “Kings Throne” am Ostrand des Parks. 
Schon bald haben wir die Baumgrenze überschritten. Unsere Anstrengung wird mit einer autemberaubenden Aussicht und großartigen Fotogelegenheiten belohnt. Unter uns öffnet sich das Kathleen River Valley und im Westen sehen wir die Gipfel der Kluane Range.

Die Wanderung zum King’s Throne ist als schwer einzustufen, teilweise steil und über Geröllfelder. Für diese 10 km lange Tour werden wir ca. 4 bis 6 Stunden benötigen. Der Höhenunterschied beträgt 548 m.

6. Tag
Nach dem Frühstück verlassen wir unser Hütten und fahren zurück nach Whitehorse. Zwischendurch ist immer noch Zeit für einen Stopp, um das ein oder andere Foto zu schießen.

Am frühen Nachmittag werden wir wieder zurück in Whitehorse sein, wo wir die Tour beenden.

Im Tourpreis enthaltene Leistungen:

  • 6 Tage Tour ab/bis Whitehorse
  • Betreuung durch deutsch- oder englischsprachigen Tourguide
    (deutschsprachige Reiseleitung ist nicht garantiert)
  • geführte Tour in kleinen Gruppen von 2 bis 8 Personen
  • sämtliche Übernachtungen in Hütten (Bettzeug vorhanden)
  • zentrale sanitäre Anlagen und Duschen
  • 5 Tage Aufenthalt im Kluane National Park
  • 4 Tageswanderungen in verschiedenen Gebieten des National Parks
  • komplette Verpflegung während der Tour
  • sämtliche Transfers
  • Notfallausrüstung einschließlich Satellitenkommunikation

Nicht inbegriffene Leistungen:

  • Hin- und Rückflug nach Whitehorse
  • Verpflegung in den Hotels und während der Transfers
  • Alkoholische Getränke
  • Persönliche Ausgaben und Trinkgelder
  • Angellizenz
  • Reiseversicherung
Reisedatum: Preise Verfügbarkeit
11.06.2018 bis 16.06.2018 $1700 CAD
02.07.2018 bis 07.07.2018 $1700 CAD
13.08.2018 bis 18.08.2018 $1700 CAD

Einzelhüttenzuschlag: $350,00 CAD

Alle Preisangaben sind in Kanadischen Dollar zzgl. 5% GST.